Examples of Blogs

(For ACOM 5308 – Utilizing Online Media in Agricultural Communications)

These are ten blogs I find interesting and peruse regularly.  Most of them fall into the themes of my interests and current life situations.  Do you follow any of these blogs?  Which ones do you like the most?

Crystal Cattle

Since I started reading Crystal Young’s blog, she has moved, gotten married, changed jobs and so much more.  Her blog serves as a direct connection to the farm as she blogs about chores, cattle sales and the corn report.  What I like most about Crystal’s blog is how she smoothly mixes stories about agriculture in among tales of new recipes, favorite makeup products, and my personal favorite, Turquoise Thursday posts.

À La Missy

I met Missy Hren while living and working in Wisconsin during the summer of 2012.  While I was working for Charleston|Orwig with her friend Elyise, Missy had an internship with Massey Ferguson.  While some internships turn into full-time positions, this one did not turn out that way.  Missy’s blog chronicles the roller-coaster ride that is the job hunt.  Her personality shines through the posts and I am inspired by her positive attitude.  Recently, Missy was hired!

The Pioneer Woman

In search of a new cinnamon roll recipe, I came across The Pioneer Woman.  We’ve talked about Ree Drummund in class, but I like her blog so much that I have to include it on this list.  Ree shares recipes that have become my favorites, photos of life on the ranch and has weekly giveaways.  Someday, I will win something from The Pioneer Woman.  Someday. I enjoy the tone Ree takes with each of her posts, like she is a friend, telling me about her day.

One Twenty Five

Liz, of the One Twenty Five blog, shares some of my interests and struggles, which are what first led me to her blog.  She loves to travel and is an avid CrossFitter.  Liz posts to her blog when she is happy, mad, sad, excited and uncertain.  I feel like I am getting an inside look into how she really processes through situations and feelings.  She doesn’t sugarcoat anything for her readers, we just get the honest truth about her life.

#whatshouldwecallgradschool

What Should We Call Grad School is a blog of GIFs with captions that capture the daily struggles of life as a graduate student.  While some of the posts apply more to students who work in labs as part of their study, most of the blog is applicable to everyone on the path to a higher degree.  On some occasions, the blog posts have directly reflected an experience I had that day or week while at school.  The blog is a funny reminder that we are all  in this together.

#myfriendsaremarried

If you’re not married, but many of your friends are engaged or have tied the knot, this blog is for you.  I have about seven save the dates on my fridge and have no intention of getting married any time soon.  My Friends Are Married is another blog of GIFs with captions, but this time depicting the situations of bridesmaids and single friends of the bride.

Foodopia

I love food.  I also love looking at photos of food.  The Foodopia blog’s layout is tiled, beautiful photos of food that link to recipes found all over the web.  I’ve tried a few recipes from the blog, but mostly just found inspiration for simpler recipes.  I like the mix of recipes and foods found on the blog.  Many times, I come across blogs that cater to specifically vegetarian or low-calorie recipes.  Foodopia finds a good balance between all diets in their posts.

What Should We Call Social Media

Full-time social media managers can definitely relate with What Should We Call Social Media.  The posts are GIFs with captions depicting life as a 24/7 social media user.  I appreciate that the blog is equally as current as social media streams.  Whenever there is a social media crisis, like the leaked Taco Bell photo, the blog posts.

What I’d Wear

This is the most recent blog I have started following on TumblrWhat I’d Wear features photos of street style and answers readers’ questions about what to wear with certain pieces.  I like the style of the blogger and also enjoy getting new outfit ideas.

Bring it on Home

Robin Kleine, a dear friend, is a fellow Wildcat who blogs about the things she loves.  She works from home for Focus Marketing Group and also does freelance work through her business, RKK Communications.  I’ve learned as a recent graduate and transplant Texan that staying in touch with friends can be difficult.  I enjoy keeping up with Robin through her blog.  She also uses the blog to promote her freelance work, which gives me ideas for how to do the same on my site.

Leave a Reply

